Richard Hawley


Last month saw Richard Hawley touring Europe to promote his latest album “Hollow Meadows”. Our LGA gig reviewer, Paul Wood, was on hand to see one of the final nights of the UK leg of his tour at the Roundhouse in London.



“Hollow Meadows” is Hawley’s 8th studio album and the evening’s show is predominantly based around the new album and its predecessor “Standing At The Sky’s Edge” interspersed with a few Hawley “classics”.

Hawley’s recent albums have gone for a more expansive (and at times psychedelic) sound with emphasis on his undoubted talents on guitar. The live set is therefore an interesting mixture of guitar based songs alongside the gentle ballads on material such as “Coles Corner” with which he came to national prominence.

The mixture works well and Hawley has an on stage line of patter which moves through being funny, self-deprecating and poignant. The Roundhouse gig included a one minute silence for Remembrance Sunday which was impeccably observed by the audience.

Here’s a link to the Richard Hawley official site where you will find videos for the rather gorgeous new song “I Still Want You” (the opening track on the new album) and the menacing guitar sound of “Which Way” (which opened the Roundhouse show)

Both new and old songs are greeted with appreciation from the full Roundhouse crowd and the band come back for an encore with breakthrough song “Coles Corner”, new song “What Love Means” (the closing track on “Hollow Meadows”) and the trademark guitar tour de force finish of “The Ocean”

Here’s a link to Youtube footage of “The Ocean” filmed in Paris on the current tour. LGA students and followers should check out Hawley’s guitar build up on his trademark Gretsch guitar which starts from 5.00 in:

Further dates have been added for Richard in the UK for February and he’s well worth catching live.  He is scheduled for an appearance in London at the Eventim (Hammersmith) Apollo on 23 February.

[googlemap width=”false” height=”400″ latitude=”0″ longitude=”0″ address=”chalk farm, UK” zoom=”15″ type=”ROADMAP”]



  1. Which Way
  2. Tonight the Streets Are Ours
  3. Standing at the Sky’s Edge
  4. I Still Want You
  5. Leave Your Body Behind You
  6. Sometimes I Feel
  7. Open Up Your Door
  8. Tuesday pm
  9. Time Will Bring You Winter
  10. Down in the Woods
  11. Don’t Stare at the Sun
  12. Heart of Oak
  13. There’s a Storm Comin’


  1. Coles Corner
  2. What Love Means
  3. The Ocean

Blast From The Past

Here’s video footage of the Longpigs (featuring a young Richard Hawley on guitar) from TFI Friday performing “Lost Myself” in 1996: